Canelo Alvarez to receive Floyd Mayweather treatment with new WBA ruling

According to a new order, the World Boxing Association will recognize Canelo Alvarez as their champion at middleweight and super middleweight.

Alvarez (51-1-2, 35 KO's) won the WBA and WBC 160-pound world titles in September 2018, when he defeated Gennady Golovkin by majority decision, and will defend the titles again on May 4th in a unification against Daniel Jacobs, the IBF titlist, on May 4 at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Canelo also won the 168-pound WBA "regular" title in December, when he easily dismantled Rocky Fielding Jr. in a third-round stoppage. Callum Smith, who holds the WBA's "super" world title, is recognized as the real champion at 168-pounds.

Floyd Mayweather Jr. was given the same treatment.

Mayweather was also allowed to hold WBA world titles in multiple weight classes for years.

Mayweather captured the WBC welterweight title with a fourth-round knockout against Victor Ortiz in 2011 and won the WBA junior middleweight title with a unanimous decision against Miguel Cotto in his subsequent fight. Mayweather was allowed to remain the WBC's champion at 147-pounds and defended his title against Robert Guerrero before moving back up to 154-pounds to challenge Canelo in September 2013, who at the time was the WBC titlist. Mayweather ended up dominating Canelo in a one-sided fight, despite one judge awarding Alvarez with six rounds to make it a majority decision.

Both sanctioning bodies allowed Mayweather to hold their junior middleweight titles until his retirement in 2015, despite him not fighting at the weight class for two years.

Share this story

must see

  • Davis vs Nunez
  • Quillin vs Truax