Lucas Matthysse (36-3, 34 KO’s) drilled a hard left hook into the body of the undefeated Roberto Ortiz (31-1-1) to give him the first defeat of his career with a 2nd KO victory. The fight was beginning to heat up a little with Matthysse in control from the opening bell. Matthysse’s left hook sent Ortiz to the body where he didn’t make the ten count to continue.
Ortiz appeared to be fine, waiting for the final second to get up to recover from the body shot however the referee claimed that Ortiz did not get up in time to defeat the count. The replay showed that Ortiz got up at the 9 1/2 count and that the referee waived off the fight.